News

Below you will be able to read whatever is going on in the company. The content will be very divers. Changes in the law could be one thing for example, but also visitreports to breeders, new arrivals, exceptional offers,... There is room for everything. Follow this page if you want to stay updated on any novelty concerning Passion for Animals.

Update Coronacrisis

18/04/2020

Today we received an update from our governments about the sales of animals in the shops. The sale was actually again permitted in Flanders, Brussels and Wallonia. As such, we re-opened our entire assortment with just some tiny exceptions for animals we can’t get at the moment, given their origin.
We are ready to serve you as we did before and look forward to a beautiful collaboration again. Keep it safe and make sure to keep the minimal distances, also while selling an animal. We will perform contactless deliveries.
See you soon!

Update Coronacrisis

19/03/2020

The Coronovirus' impact on our economy increases day by day and as such it became impossible for Passion for Animals to be impacted as well. The governement has decided to keep our petshop open, but it is clear that their main goal is to ensure disponability of petfood. The sales of new pets is clearly not essential these days. Therefore, Passion for Animals decided to suspend all deliveries of Animals to the shops.

So, what is still available at Passion for Animals?

Het corona virus

As you can clearly see in our product assortiment on the webshop, only essential products are still available. To our feeling the fish food of Ocean Nutrition as well as living insects, frozen insects and frozen rodents are essential as food source for our pets. In addition to these foodsources, we determined the cleaning products of our product range (to maintain hygienic housing) and Reptech products (to ensure proper climatistation for coldblooded reptiles)
Given the limited assortiment, we decreased the franco delivery to €75. Orders will be shipped by courier to ensure deliveries in the stores.
At the company, we decreased our staff to an absolute minimum. From monday onwards we will therefor only be available between 9am-12am or by e-mail. We hope with these measures to help stopping the Covid-19 virus as quick as possible, so everything can go back to normal.

The Corona virus and Passion for Animals

15/03/2020

Het corona virus

It became impossible to ignore the presence of the Corona virus and to recognise its large impact on the public health. Being careful is very important, but also the economic impact of the virus should not be underestimated.
Our sector is until now lucky in that sense that the pet shops can remain open as usual. Let’s hope all together that it will stay that way, so our sector can be spared from the large economic impact of Covid 19.


Is Passion for Animals encountering issues because of the Corona virus ?

Yes, of course we also feel the impact of the virus in our company. As wholesaler we buy many of our products abroad. More and more countries go into a lockdown in an attempt to stop the virus, but that means that receiving deliveries from other countries than Belgium becomes more and more difficult as well.
We will always do our best to be able to keep offering the largest possible range of animals/products, but of course we also have to follow the issued restrictions from the Belgian government. Moreover, we also have to take the restrictions issued by the country of origin of the animals/products into account when it comes down to deliveries.
On the "news" section on our webpage, we will keep you informed if any issues in the supply chain may emerge. Also our web shop will be updated frequently to keep you as well informed as possible, although it remains difficult to be able to predict everything more than a week ahead, especially in case the government may increase the restrictions.
Until now we are not aware of acute supply issues that we cannot counterbalance by our own stocks. That is why we can still offer full availability of the animals/products until now. Moreover, beginning of week 12 we expect some more deliveries, which hopefully may give us the possibility to increase our stocks. We will keep you posted on any further developments.

A visit to our rodent breeders

07/03/2020

The breeder’s history

Hamster met jongen

Just like in Passion for Animals, it is the passion for his job that forms the solid basis for our rodent breeder. Already at the age of 7, he started with his first Syrian hamster. Ever since that day, he was never without rodents in his life. What started as a simple gift for a 7 year old Dutch boy, grew out to a rodent-imperium where, until today and more than 50 years later, every animal still is treated as an individual.
Together with his wife he runs the company. Animal welfare, an eye for genetics and animal health are their key parameters. They select breeding pairs with the highest care and look continuously for new colours and selection lines. As such they aim at getting everyone enthusiastic about the beautiful world of rodent-pets.
Together with this heart for rodents, the farm is a care farm for people with a mental disability which are guided to perform tasks that are adapted to their mental abilities. Performing these tasks, these people help a strong team that gives all their possible for the rodents of tomorrow. A noble task that we largely appreciate.


Our findings about the visit

Upon arrival we see a clean farm. All cages are mounted on movable racks to make it possible to keep the floor spick and span regardless of the usage of bedding materials and abundant cleaning. All cages are clearly labelled so it is easy to track down the animals. All labels contain necessary info about colours and selection of the parents and mention the mating date and the day the young are expected or born, if applicable.
Drinking bottles are clean and all cages contain next to water and food extra hiding places for the animals. The cages are enriched with paper scraps and/or hay to give the possibility for the animals to make nests. We are provided a clear view on the working schedule of the farm and can see for ourselves that the correct ages for weaning are respected. After weaning the animals stay for a few more weeks at the farm before they pass the correct minimal weight/age and are ready to sell.

De toekomst

The future

During the tour we had in the farm, we were given a sneak peek on the future. Currently, the farm works hard on selecting new colours for the rats. If everything goes well, new colour morphs will be available in a few months. They also started breeding dwarf rats, but currently they are not on sale yet, as they need to establish a stable breeding group first. Also increasing the degus breeding groups are currently one of their main focusses
We can conclude that the farm is ready for our further expansion and we are convinced that we made the right decision in the selection of this breeder already many years ago. Passion for Animals stands for animal welfare and does everything possible to find high quality partners. A tough selection of breeders with the needed visits on site make the solid base for selecting only the top-breeders. We can confirm that our breeder of the small rodents past our selection procedure with flying colours. We can proudly state that we look forward to a beautiful future together.

RWF guinea pigs, what are they exactly?

ring worm free logo

02/01/2020

You probably noticed already, but we only offer RWF guinea pigs on our website. But what exactly are they? RWF means "Ringworm free". These guinea pigs do not carry spores of ringworm. They come from a Spanish farm, which is located in an area with a very specialised micro climate. In this microclimate ringworm spores can not survive. As such the farm received the label of "Ringworm free farm". Moreover, the general quility of these guinea pigs is remarkably better in comparisson to guinea pigs originating form the Belgium or Dutch farms we used to work with before. They are better in size and we encounter almost no health problems, especially compared to the locally bred guinea pigs.


So, can nothing happen to these guinea pigs?

Ofcourse things may go wrong. In the end, they are still animals. But the better size, stronger health and absences of ringworm spores make the chances of unforeseen infections very small. Larger animals have a better developed immune system, which makes them stronger and more ready to encounter the stressful events of moving around from us to the shop and eventually to the end-user.


afbeelding cavia

So ringworm will never occur in these animals?

Unfortunately ringworm may still occur. We assure this animals do not carry the spores on their skin. This makes the chances of developping ringworm infection very small. We, ourselves, can succesfully keep the animals ringworm free in our facilities. However, if an animal gets infected by spores, they may still develop the ringworm infection. The spores may come from othere animals carrying the spores (e.g. from rabbits, cats, dogs, cows, horses,...). As such, not only keeping the cages as clean and desinfected as possible, but also keeping your hands clean when playing with your pet, is key to keep them ringworm free.


Sill in doubt? Just try it yourselve. Order these guinea pigs and dicover yourselve why we stopped selling the original Belgian or Dutch quality guinea pigs.

The new website is ready

02/01/2020

It has finally happened. We talk already a long time about it, but our website finaly is ready. Not only does this new version looks polished, also the backend and webshop had a complete makeover. Weborders will be processed automatically, making mistakes and losing orders almost impossible. Invoicing of the prepared goods is simplified. Moreover, al new invoices will be stored on our webservers, so you can access your invoices online at any time. Everyone will need a short adaptation time, but finaly everyone will be convinced about the changes we made. Just sit back, and relax!

Nouvelles

Ci-dessous, vous pourrez suivre toutes les nouvelles que nous voulons partager avec vous. Le contenu sera très varié. Par exemple: modifications de la législation, rapports de visite d'éleveurs, offres exceptionnelles, … Suivez nos nouvelles surtout si vous voulez rester au courant de tout ce qui vit à PFA.

Update Coronacrisis

18/04/2020

Aujourd’hui nous avons reçu des nouvelles concernant la vente des animaux en magasin. Les gouvernements ont donné la permission pour la vente en Flandres, Bruxelles et Wallonie. Ainsi, nous avons de nouveau ajouté tout notre gamme sur le site web avec l’exception de certains animaux que nous ne savons pas avoir pour l’instant vu leur origine.
Nous sommes prêt pour vous servir comme avant la crise et ont envie de relancer notre collaboration comme avant. Restez prudent et rassurez-vous de la distance minimale aussi pendant la vente d’un animal. Nous ferons des livraisons sans contact.
À bientôt !

Update Coronavirus

19/03/2020

L'impact du coronavirus sur notre economie devient de plus en plus important et aussi chez Passion for Animals il devient impossible de continuer avec notre assortiment complet. Même si le governement a décidé de laisser les magasins pour animaux ouvert, leur but est clairement d' offrir l'allimentation pour animaux, plutôt que stimuler la vente des animaux. Ainsi nous avons décidé chez Passion for Animals de suspendre la vente des animaux vers les magasins.

Que pouvez-vous encore commander chez Passion for Animals?

Het corona virus

Comme vous pouvez voir dans notre assortiment de produits sur notre webshop, nous avons limités la choix des produits jusqu'aux produits nécessaire pour nourrir et soigner les animaux. Ces produits sont la nourriture pour poissons d'Ocean Nutrition, les insectes vivantes, les insectes congelés, les rongeur congelés. Aussi les produits d'entretien ainsi que les produits de Reptech sont encore disponible. L'hygiène ainsi que la lumières/chauffages des animaux est pour nous un service essentiel pour les animaux.
Vu l'assortiment limité, nous avons diminuer le franco jusqu'à €75. Les commandes seront envoyé par courrier, pour garantir une livraison chez vous.
Sur la société, nous avons limités le personel jusqu'à: un minimum. Ainsi, dès lundi nous sommes disponible entre 9h00 - 12h00 ou par mail. Nous esperons de pouvoir contribué à la santé publique avec ces mésures nécessaire pour arrêter Covid-19.

Le Coronavirus et Passion for Animals

15/03/2020

Het corona virus

Le Coronavirus est partout et il n’est donc plus possible de ne pas reconnaitre la menace de ce virus sur la santé publique. La prudence est donc fortement conseillée, mais l’impact économique de ce virus est quand-même important.
Jusqu’à présent notre secteur à la bonheur que les magasins peuvent encore rester ouverts. Laissons-nous tous espérer que ceci reste le cas et que notre secteur restera protégé des grands impacts comme dans certains autres secteurs.


Y-a-t-il de l’impact de ce virus sur Passion for Animals?

Il est &eactue;vident que nous sentons l’impact de Covid-19 sur notre société. Comme grossiste nous achetons beaucoup de nos animaux/produits à l’étranger. Car beaucoup de pays sont maintenant en "lockdown" il devient de plus en plus difficile pour recevoir des livraisons d’autre pays que la Belgique.
Nous ferons toujours tout notre possible pour avoir une gamme la plus complète, mais c’est claire que aussi nous, nous devons suivre les décisions de notre gouvernement. En plus, aussi les décisions des pays d’origines de nos animaux/produits ont leur impact sur la disponibilité de certains références. Sur la page "nouvelles" sur notre site web, nous vous tiendrons au courant si il y aura un impact plus grand du virus sur nos stocks. Aussi notre web shop restera up to date.
Jusqu’à présent, nous ne sommes pas au courant de ruptures de stock qui viendront dans le future proche, mais nous tenons quand-même à vous informer. Début de la semaine 12, nous recevrons encore quelques livraisons importantes. Vue ces livraisons, nous espérons de pouvoir continuer encore quelques semaines sans soucis. Nous vous tiendrons au courant!

Rapport de visite aux éleveurs de nos petits rongeurs

07/03/2020

L'histoire de ce cultivateur

Hamster met jongen

Tout comme pour Passion for Animals, notre éleveur de rongeurs est passionné par le métier. Déjà à l'âge de 7 ans, il a commencé avec son premier hamster doré. Depuis ce jour, il n'a plus jamais été libre de rongeurs. Ce qui a commencé comme un simple cadeau pour un gentil jeune garçon hollandais est devenu un véritable empire des rongeurs où chaque animal est traité comme un individu à ce jour et plus de 50 ans plus tard.
Avec sa femme, ils dirigent leur entreprise dans le souci du bien-être animal, de la génétique et de la santé de ces animaux. Ils sélectionnent les animaux avec soin et sont toujours à la recherche de nouvelles couleurs et lignes de sélection pour faire découvrir à tous la vraie beauté des petits rongeurs.
La pépinière fonctionne également comme une ferme de soins où les personnes handicapées mentales offrent un coup de main à une équipe solide qui travaille tous les jours pour les rongeurs de demain. Une tâche noble que nous apprécions également.


Les résultats de notre visite

À l'arrivée à la pépinière, nous remarquons une entreprise propre. Toutes les cages d'élevage sont montées sur des chariots à roulettes afin que le sol puisse être maintenu spic et span, malgré les nombreux travaux de nettoyage avec les matériaux de litière. Les cages elles-mêmes sont toutes soigneusement étiquetées afin que vous sachiez d'un coup d'œil quels animaux s'y trouvent. Toutes les étiquettes contiennent des informations utiles sur les couleurs et la sélection des animaux parents, ainsi que sur le moment où les animaux sont appariés ou sur les jeunes.
Les bidons sont propres et il y a toujours des cachettes supplémentaires pour les animaux en plus de la nourriture et de l'eau. Il y a du papier déchiqueté supplémentaire ou du foin disponible pour faire les nids. Nous obtenons une image très ouverte de l'horaire de travail de la pépinière et nous pouvons déterminer par nous-mêmes que les âges de sevrage corrects sont utilisés. Apr&erave;s le sevrage, les animaux restent à la ferme pendant quelques semaines avant d'être prêts à la vente et ont dépassé leur poids / âge minimum correct.

De toekomst

L'avenir

Au cours de la visite franche de la pépinière, nous avons également reçu un aperçu de l'avenir. De nouvelles sélections de couleurs pour les rats sont mises en place, de sorte que si tout se passe bien, un certain nombre de couleurs plus spéciales deviendront disponibles dans quelques mois. De plus, des lignées de reproduction avec des rats nains sont en cours de démarrage et le degus travaille également à l'expansion du cheptel reproducteur.
La pépinière est donc prête pour notre croissance future et nous sommes également convaincus qu'avec la sélection de ce cultivateur nous avons fait le bon choix depuis plusieurs années. Comme nos éleveurs, Passion for Animals garantit le bien-être animal et met tout en quête de partenaires de qualité. Une sélection bonne et stricte des éleveurs avec les visites de sites correspondantes en est la base et nous pouvons déjà confirmer que cet éleveur a passé avec succès notre procédure de sélection. Nous espérons déjà ensemble un avenir radieux.

Les cobayes RWF, C'est quoi ça?

ring worm free logo

02/01/2020

Vous avez sans doute remarqué que vous ne pouvez commander que des cobayes RWF sur notre site web, mais qu'est ce que ça veut dire, RWF? RWF est l’abréviation de " Ring worm free ", un terme Anglais qui signifie que les cobayes ne sont pas porteur de mycoses. Ces cobayes viennent d'un ééeveur espagnol situé dans une région où le climat empêche le développement de la teigne. L'éleveur est reconnu comme éleveur sans teigne par le gouvernement espagnol. En plus, la qualité de ces cobayes est remarquable meilleure que celle des cobayes qui dérivent des éleveurs locaux.


Rien ne peut plus arriver à ce cobaye?

Si, ce sont et restent des animaux vivants. Le format plus beau, une meilleure santé générale et le fait que les cobayes ne sont pas porteur de la teigne réduisent le risque. ces animaux ont un système immunitaire plus fort, ce qui les rend plus résistants aux situations stressantes.


afbeelding cavia

Donc, la teigne ne survient plus chez ces animaux?

Malheureusement, la teigne peut encore se produire. Les animaux ne portent pas la mycose sur leur corps ce qui réduit le risque de développer la teigne. Dans notre quarantaine, nous pouvons également garder les cobayes sans teigne. Cependant, si les spores de la teigne finissent sur les animaux, la maladie peut encore se développer. Les spores peuvent ètre transmises par contact avec des autres animaux. Attention, cela concerne non seulement les cobayes mais aussi les chats et les chiens peuvent ètre porteur de cette mycose. une bonne hygiène des mains avant et après la manipulation des animaux peut éviter de nombreux problèmes. Le plus grand avantage est l’absence des spores sur les cobayes RWF. Si vous prévenez les infections, votre cobaye restera exempt de teigne!


Vous doutez encore? Commandez ces cobayes et découvrez par vous-même pourquoi nous avons déjà choisi de ne vendre que ceux-ci.

Notre nouveau site web prend forme!

02/01/2020

Ca y est! Depuis un an nous en parlons et cela commence enfin à prendre forme. Le design de ce site web a non seulement été modernisé, mais l’arrière-plan de la boutique en ligne a également été entièrement renouvelé. Les commandes passées via le site sont traitées de manière entièrement automatique et ne peuvent plus être perdues. La facturation est simplifiée et vous auriez également accès à vos factures. Il faudra un certain temps pour s’adapter, mais à la fin, ce site sera un soulagement pour tout le monde.